12511420_mlScientific Advisory Board

Joseph A. Murray, M.D.

Dr. Murray is Professor of Medicine and Immunology and a Consultant Gastroenterologist in the Division of Gastroenterology and Hepatology at the Mayo Clinic, Rochester, Minnesota.  He received his medical training in Ireland and GI training at the University of Iowa, where he founded the celiac disease clinic in 1992.  In 1998 he joined the staff of the Mayo clinic, where he has a large clinical practice focused largely on celiac disease.  In addition, he runs the celiac disease research and clinical program that focuses on disease epidemiology and complications and mouse models of gluten sensitivity. His programs are supported by the NIH. He is a senior associate editor of American Journal Of Gastroenterology as well as an expert reviewer for many scientific journals and has published over 170 scientific articles.

Peter H. R. Green, M.D.

Dr. Green is the Director of The Celiac Disease Center at Columbia University. He is a Professor of Clinical Medicine at the College of Physicians and Surgeons, Columbia University and Attending Physician at the New York-Presbyterian Hospital. Dr. Green received his medical degree from University of Sydney, Australia. After completing his Residency and GI fellowship in Sydney he became a Research fellow at Harvard Medical School and in the Gastroenterology Department at the Beth Israel Hospital in Boston. He is a Fellow of the Royal Australasian College of Physicians and the American College of Gastroenterology as well as a Member of the American Gastroenterologic Association and American Society of Gastrointestinal Endoscopy.

Ciarán P. Kelly, M.D.

Dr. Kelly is Professor of Medicine at Harvard Medical School and Chief of the Herrman L. Blumgart Internal Medicine Firm, Director of Gastroenterology Training and Medical Director of the Celiac Center at Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center, Boston, Massachusetts.  Dr. Kelly earned his doctor of medicine degree from Trinity College in Dublin, Ireland where he was a Foundation Scholar and recipient of numerous academic awards.  He is an American Gastroenterology Association Fellow and a Fellow of the College of Gastroenterology. Dr. Kelly’s longstanding clinical and research interests are in intestinal infection and inflammation and the pathogenesis and management of celiac disease.  He heads clinical, research and educational programs in celiac disease as Medical Director of the Celiac Center at BIDMC.  Dr. Kelly is author on more than 100 clinical and basic research book chapters, invited reviews, and peer-reviewed publications.

Markku Mäki, M.D., Ph.D.

Dr. Maki is professor (emeritus) at the University of Tampere and presently research director at the Tampere University Hospital, Tampere, Finland. He has an extensive track record in celiac disease research and research leadership. Prof. Mäki’s research has been inspired by the needs of the celiac sufferers; he has also been the President of the Finnish Celiac Society. Lately professor Mäki has been involved in novel drug trials in celiac disease and his interest is especially in outcome measures. In 2010, Professor Mäki received the Wm. K. Warren Jr. Prize in Celiac Disease in Clinical/Translational Research, San Diego, USA. Mäki is a permanent member of the Finnish Academy of Science and Letters and the President of Finland has granted him the honour of Knight, First Class, of the Order of the White Rose of Finland in 2006.

Daniel C. Adelman, M.D.

Dr. Adelman is Chief Medical Officer at Aimmune Therapeutics, a biotechnology company developing therapeutics for food allergy.  He previously served as Senior Vice President of Development and Chief Medical Officer at Alvine Pharmaceuticals Inc. and led the development of latiglutenase for the treatment of celiac disease.  Prior to that, Dr. Adelman has served in various roles at other biotechnology companies, including Senior Vice President, Development and Chief Medical Officer at Sunesis Pharmaceuticals,  Vice President, Clinical Operations and Biometrics at Pharmacyclics, and was a Clinical Scientist at Genentech where he was involved in the clinical development of two therapeutic monoclonal antibodies, Xolair® and Avastin®.  Dr. Adelman also holds an academic appointment at the University of California, San Francisco as Adjunct Professor of Medicine.  He is a fellow of both the American Academy of Allergy and Immunology and the American College of Physicians.  Dr. Adelman holds an AB degree in Biology from University of California, Berkeley and received his M.D. from the University of California, Davis.

Jack Henion, Ph.D.

Dr. Henion is an internationally recognized leader in the field of MS and LC/MS. He has published more than 200 peer-reviewed papers. In addition to his work at Advion, Dr. Henion managed a major research laboratory at Cornell University, where he served as a professor of toxicology for more than 24 years and is now Emeritus Professor of Analytical Toxicology. Under his leadership and vision, Advion has established itself as one of the largest and most respected LC/MS contract laboratories in the world and a leader in chip-based nanoelectrospray mass spectrometry. He is the recipient of many honors and awards.

Henk J. M. Kocken, Ph.D.

Dr. Kocken is currently VP, Quality Assurance at Nektar Therapeutics. He has over 20 years of experience in CMC, Quality Systems, Quality Assurance and Regulatory Affairs in the biopharmaceutical industry. Prior to joining Nektar Therapeutics, Dr. Kocken served as VP Regulatory Affairs and Quality for Alvine Pharmaceuticals Inc., supporting the development of investigational new drugs targeting Celiac disease. Dr. Kocken previously served as VP Quality Systems at VaxGen. Prior to his industry career, Dr. Kocken was Assistant Professor of Molecular Biology at Eindhoven University of Technology in the Netherlands. He received his Ph.D. in Chemical Technology from Eindhoven University of Technology.